French Duo UMAN to Re-Issue ‘Chaleur Humaine’ Album on RVNG’s Freedom To Spend

Photo: José Gusman

Freedom To Spend, an imprint RVNG Intl. helmed by Pete Swanson and Jed Bindeman, will re-issue Chaleur Humaine, the debut album from French sibling duo UMAN

Chaleur Humaine is Danielle and Didier Jean’s debut album, and it was originally released in 1992 on Buda Musique during the French record label’s rise to prominence. Danielle and Didier recorded it upon relocating to Orsay, a suburb south of Paris, where they built a humble studio in isolation as they sought to reject the conformity of the mainstream music industry.

Within their recording sanctuary, Danielle and Didier embraced cutting edge consumer music technology to inform the album’s esoteric, textural characteristics. This is especially notable in the processing of Danielle’s voice, inventively sampled, shifted and processed, and then woven through Didier’s dream worlds. Chaleur Humaine is in many ways a symbol of their new, liberated perspective, inspired by a space that gave them the freedom to develop and experiment with ideas independently.

“We wanted to go beyond the oceans, the mountains, to explore humanity and to snuggle up to the heart of human beings,” UMAN said. “That’s why we’re thrilled for new ears and a new generation to hear the music of Chaleur Humaine.”

Chaleur Humaine follows RVNG’s release of Japanese artist Satomimagae’s Hanazono album.

On behalf of UMAN, a portion of the proceeds from this release will benefit Greenpeace France.


01. Человечность (Chaleur Humaine – Russian)
02. UMAN Spirit
03. Aubade
04. Human Warmth
05. Entrelacs
06. Mémoire Vive
07. Chaleur Humaine
08. Cordes Sensibles
09. Maelström
10. البشري الحرارة (Chaleur Humaine – Arabic)
11. Atmosphère
12. Calor Humano
13. Human
14. Hơi ấm của nhân loại (Chaleur Humaine – Vietnamese)
15. Lalala
16. Menselijke Warmte
17. Ménestrel
18. אנושית אש (Chaleur Humaine – Hebrew)
19. Déambulation

Chaleur Humaine LP will land on September 17. Meanwhile, you can stream “UMAN Spirit” and “Mémoire Vive” in full below and pre-order here.

About the Author

Connect with us
2021 EDM Junkies. All Rights Reserved.