Roman Flügel Unveils Album and Preceding EP on Gerd Janson’s Running Back

Roman Flügel has unveiled a new album and an accompanying EP on Gerd Janson‘s Running Back label.

Eating Darkness follows Flugel’s Tracks On Delivery, a collection of reissues from his series of the same name. His last full album came in 2018 with Themes I-XIII on ESP Institute in 2018.

Eating Darkness is affected by the fundamental shock of 2020, but it’s not the result thereof, we’re told. It aims to capture the colorfulness, happiness, beauty, and drama of the dancefloor using rigorous sound design and minimalist beauty. The album also reflects Flugel’s weakness for the art of pop music with the use of little and especially short motifs.

As a precursor to the album, Flugel will release Anima. Across four tracks, Flügel links the euphoria of last year’s “Garden Party,” available on Running Back, to the present day. “Eating Darkness” and Anima” foreshadow the long-player.

Tracklisting, Album

01. Magic Briefcase
02. Chemicals
03. Wow
04. Jocks and Freaks
05. The Best Is Yet To Come
06. Cluttered Homes
07. Eternal
08. Locked
09. Charles

Tracklisting, EP

A1. D.I.S.C.O Extended Version
A2. D.I.S.C.O (Dub)
B1. Anima
B2. Eating Darkness

Anima EP is scheduled for March 19 release, with Eating Darkness scheduled for May 7. Meanwhile, you can stream “Eating Darkness,” taken from the EP, via the player below.

About the Author

Connect with us
2021 EDM Junkies. All Rights Reserved.