Matthewdavid’s Leaving Records Welcomes Habitat for ‘Vaguely Intimate’ Album

Habitat, an environmental music collaboration by Berlin-based composer Niklas Kramer and percussionist Joda Foerster, will release a debut album on Matthewdavid‘s Leaving Records.

Habitat is inspired by the drawings of Italian architect Ettore Sottsass, and each track represents a room in an imaginary building. They wrote it during the summer of 2020.

Across eight tracks, Kramer and Foerster layer, loop, and merge sonic textures and patterns into fluid blocks without the restraint of statics. African log drum, Bolivian chajchas, vibraphone, kalimba, and various other percussion instruments are processed, pitched, and filtered through modular synth and script-based sample cutting to form a collage of asynchronous layers. This result of this, we’re told, is a “vague intimacy,” and “a curious state of comfort in the unknown.”

Kramer is best known for his work in Still Parade, where he produces soft, summer pop. Soon Enough, their latest album, came in November 2018.

For more information of Leaving’s new future, check out Matthewdavid’s EDMjunkies podcast, recorded last month.


01. Entrance
02. Air Flows
03. Botanique
04. The Fountain
05. Four Glass Steps
06. Moon Corridor
07. Curved Hallway
08. Levitation Room

Habitat LP is scheduled for April 9 release. Meanwhile, you can stream “Air Flows” and “Four Glass Steps” in full via the player below and pre-order here.

About the Author

Connect with us
2021 EDM Junkies. All Rights Reserved.